Welcome to World Footy News
Saturday, January 18 2020 @ 10:34 am ACDT

Tropical Queensland Finals Done & Dusted

The footy season is well and truly over across the northern reaches of Queensland. The competitions in Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Mackay and Mount Isa drew to a close with the completion of the AFL Cairns finals last weekend. Following is a brief look at each competition for the 2015 season.

AFL Cairns:

The Cairns Saints continued their remarkable decade, in fact generation, of dominance when they came from third place at the end of the home and away season to pinch the flag again. It brings their remarkable tally to 13 flags since 1994. For a more complete picture of the Saints’ history go to Cairns Saints Empire Rises Higher.

With minor premiers, Port Douglas, going out in straight sets the door opened for the Saints to defeat South Cairns Cutters, which they did in a close match by just nine points. Final scores saw Cairns Saints 14 12 96 d South Cairns Cutters 13 9 87.

The Manunda Hawks club, barred from playing in the 2015 men’s competition, were supported by their women’s team which took their premiership against North Cairns Tigers winning 5 1 31 to 4 5 29 in a tight tussle.

AFL Townsville:

The Hermit Park Tigers won their 11th flag and first since 2012 when they defeated the Thuringowa Bulldogs by 21 points at Tony Ireland Stadium in Townsville. The Bulldogs were on track to take a three-peat after finishing the home and away season on top by percentage. But the Tigers, bridesmaids in the past two grand finals, were determined not to let it happen again. The final scores saw Hermit Park Tigers 13 8 86 defeat Thuringowa Bulldogs 8 17 65.

The Bulldogs’ women kept the club flag flying though when they defeated the University Hawks to win the women’s premiership. Finals scores saw the Bulldogs 4 2 26 defeat the Hawks 2 4 16.

AFL Mackay:

The Eastern Swans won their first flag since 2009, and their seventh overall, when they downed the Mackay City Hawks to complete an undefeated season. The final result saw the Swans hold on in a thriller by just five points, but win they did. Final scores saw the Eastern Swans 13 8 86 defeat the Mackay City Hawks 12 9 81.

In the women’s league it was the Mackay Magpies downing the North Mackay Saints by 47 points, winning the match 9 13 67 to 3 2 20.

AFL Capricornia:

It was a huge season for the Yeppoon Swans in the AFL Capricornia competition as the claimed their fifth flag and first since 2009 when they downed the BITS (Boyne Island/Tannum Sands) Saints. The Swans did so in emphatic fashion recording a 1000 point premiership win after having played a near perfect season – just one loss to BITS earlier in the season. Final scores saw the Swans 22 15 147 to the Saints 7 5 47.

The Glenmore Bulls defeated the (Rockhampton) Panthers in the women’s grand final in a most comprehensive fashion. Final scores saw Glenmore 5 6 36 defeat Panthers 0 4 4.

AFL Mount Isa:

For the second time in two years the Tigers club won the Mount Isa premiership by just two points. After outlasting the Young Guns team by 2 points to take the 2014 flag, this year the Tigers did it again to claim their 10th premiership. This time they held off a determined Rovers by that same margin, keeping the local crowds entertained and on the edge of their seats for two years running.
Final scores saw the Tigers 12 7 79 defeat the Rovers 11 11 77

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Tropical Queensland Finals Done & Dusted | 1 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Tropical Queensland Finals Done & Dusted
Authored by: KevC on Monday, March 14 2016 @ 11:23 pm ACDT

Wesley are you certain about that Mt Isa AFL result for 2015? Just not matching up with foxsports details ... it seems to be the prelim final result ... cheers, thanks for all the awesome reporting work you do, always worth a read.