Welcome to World Footy News Sunday, June 13 2021 @ 06:38 am ACST

Hawthorn seal threepeat with win over lacklustre Eagles

  • Sunday, October 04 2015 @ 09:08 pm ACDT
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 1,068

Hawthorn are 2015 AFL Premiers, recording their third consecutive Premiership with a 46 point win against the West Coast Eagles.

The Eagles scored the first goal through a free kick to Luke Shoey and hopes of a competitive Grand Final were alive. But a steady and accurate Hawthorn gradually built a 5.0 to 1.5 lead by quarter time with Cyril Rioli, Sam Mitchell and Isaac Smith leading the way for the Hawks.

The second quarter saw the Hawks drawing further away lead by inspirational captain Luke Hodge, but a late goal to Josh Hill and another after the siren to Elliot Yeo at half time pulled the lead back to 31 points and kept the game alive...barely.

The Eagles started promisingly in the second half with a goal to Darling, but a number of clangers on subsequent forays forward sealed their fate.  Goals to Shoenmakers, Gunston x2, Smith and the last man to ever come into the game as the sub (with the rule being scrapped) in Suckling saw the Hawks with a 50 point lead at three quarter time. 

The final term was contested by a team with the game in the bag and a team already defeated.  Some minor highlights were produced for both sides with a diving smother by Brian Lake and some late goals to the Eagles waltzing past tiring Hawks on a hot October afternoon reducing the final margin to 46 points. 

Cyril Rioli was named Norm Smith medallist, and a case could have been mounted for each of Isaac Smith, Sam Mitchell and James Frawley who also played well. For the Eagles Gaff and Shuey were the best performers in a poor showing punctuated by bad kicking and skill execution.

International Rookie at Hawthorn, Kurt Heatherley was among the Hawthorn listed players and staff on the ground for the presentation ceremony. After five years with the club and two years at Box Hill the Kiwi defender must have been wondering if any of that current Hawthorn team (the oldest to ever take the field in a VFL/AFL Grand Final) is going to be retiring any time soon to make room for his debut.

HAWTHORN    5.0   9.3   14.5   16.11 (107)
WEST COAST 1.5   3.8    5.9     8.13 (61)

Hawthorn: Gunston 4, Smith 3, Rioli 2, Hodge, Roughead, Birchall, Schoenmakers, Hill, McEvoy, Suckling
West Coast: McGovern 2, Darling, Hill, Hutchings, LeCras, Shuey, Yeo

Hawthorn: Rioli, Mitchell, Smith, Hodge, Gunston, Burgoyne, Frawley
West Coast: Gaff, Shuey, Butler, Hutchings, Priddis

Hawthorn: David Hale replaced by Matt Suckling in the third quarter
West Coast: Callum Sinclair replaced by Matt Rosa in the third quarter

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Dalgleish, Rosebury, Stevic

Official crowd: 98,633 at MCG