Welcome to World Footy News Saturday, September 25 2021 @ 05:51 am ACST

Australian squad announced

  • Wednesday, October 08 2008 @ 11:42 am ACDT
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 3,020
International Rules The AFL today announced its 25-man squad for the 2008 Toyota International Rules Series to be played in Perth and Melbourne. The squad to be coached by Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse will be defending the Cormac McAnallen trophy, which was won in Ireland in 2006. Malthouse said the team featured the next generation of Australian players.

“We have gone for youth, speed, skill and agility. The squad consists of players who have had outstanding seasons with their clubs, 23 of the 25 have finished in the top 10 of their club best and fairest. They all deserve the opportunity to play for their country and win for their country.

“This year we are celebrating 150 years of Australian Football and we want to finish the competitive year by winning this series for Australia. That’s our primary aim,” Malthouse said.

The team is:

Nathan Bock (Adelaide), Matthew Boyd (Western Bulldogs), Jared Brennan (Brisbane Lions), Campbell Brown (Hawthorn), Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide), Matt Campbell (North Melbourne), Ryan Crowley (Fremantle), Michael Firrito (North Melbourne), Nathan Foley (Richmond), Brent Harvey (North Melbourne), Roger Hayden (Fremantle), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), Daniel Motlop (Port Adelaide), Marc Murphy (Carlton), Michael Osborne (Hawthorn), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Drew Petrie (North Melbourne), David Rodan (Port Adelaide), Max Rooke (Geelong), Brad Sewell (Hawthorn), Kade Simpson (Carlton), Adam Selwood (West Coast), Dale Thomas (Collingwood), Scott Thompson (Adelaide), Daniel Wells (North Melbourne).

Brown, Crowley, Harvey, Selwood, Simpson and Wells have previously played at International Level. The squad was selected by Mick Malthouse, his assistant coaches Glen Jakovich, Nathan Buckley, Matthew Lappin and AFL Football Administration Manager Rod Austin. Squad members will train next week in Melbourne in preparation for the first Test at Subiaco Oval, Perth, on Friday October 24 and the second Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday October 31.

Tickets are now on sale via Ticketmaster: call 1300 136 122 or visit Ticketmaster.