Welcome to World Footy News
Sunday, June 07 2020 @ 02:38 am ACST

Western Crows take out inaugral AFLNZ premiers


The Western Crows, captained by Jared Court, entered their last and the final match of the AFLNZ premiership season with the title already assured following the loss earlier in the day by the Southern Saints. The Crows were able to finish in style with a 24 point victory over the Northern Suns.

The 9 round competition brought together (via a draft) the best available talent in New Zealand. The 4 premier sides were initially based around captain and coach.
Western Crows: Coach Rob Malone; Captain Jared Court
Southern Saints: Coach Andrew Congalton; Captain Michael Boyce
Central Giants: Coach Shannon Wall; Captain David Rattenbury
Northern Suns: Coach Chris Mundell; Captain James Kusel.

Round 1GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Southern Saints9862
Central Giants8250
Game 2
Western Crows121183
Northern Suns6642
Round 2GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Western Crows91165
Central Giants71153
Game 2
Southern Saints13684
Northern Suns71254
Round 3GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Central Giants1811119
Northern Suns6642
Game 2
Western Crows7749
Southern Saints31129
Round 4GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Southern Saints166102
Central Giants3523
Game 2
Northern Suns11975
Western Crows6945
Round 5GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Western Crows12577
Southern Saints10969
Game 2
Northern Suns168104
Central Giants12678
Round 6GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Western Crows12779
Central Giants31331
Game 2
Southern Saints131189
Northern Suns4731
Round 7GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Southern Saints179111
Northern Suns101272
Game 2
Central Giants10969
Western Crows91064
Round 8GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Western Crows101070
Southern Saints8553
Game 2
Northern Suns51343
Central Giants4832
Round 9GlsBhdPts
Game 1
Central Giants101171
Southern Saints6844
Game 2
Western Crows91266
Northern Suns6642

The final standings were

Western Crows97212628
Southern Saints95412920
Central Giants9368812
Northern Suns9367112

Each round a young rising star player was nominated, the final Round 9 nomination is to be announced.

Round 1Western CrowsWilliam WarbrickBay of Plenty6/03/1998
Round 2Northern SunsJames WatkinsWellington24/06/1998
Round 3Western CrowsBen ArmstrongNorthland7/09/1998
Round 4Western CrowsAlastair MaiseyAuckland14/04/1998
Round 5Northern SunsMisilifi FaimaloWellington4/05/1999
Round 6Western CrowsJoseph Alesich-TamarikiAuckland16/01/1999
Round 7Northern SunsHeta Scarf-MatthewsOtago30/06/1997
Round 8Central GiantsDawson NanaiAuckland17/11/1999

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Western Crows take out inaugral AFLNZ premiers | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.