Welcome to World Footy News
Saturday, January 18 2020 @ 10:34 am ACDT

Cairns, Darwin and Alice Springs share AFL spotlight

The Northern Territory and Northern Queensland have featured prominently in the AFL Premiership 2015 fixture released today. Whilst Alice Springs has lost an NAB Challenge match, it has retained a premiership fixture. Meanwhile, Darwin and Cairns will again host their now traditional AFL fixtures in July.

Last year the people of Alice Springs were treated to two AFL matches. The Melbourne Demons hosted Geelong in the NAB Challenge before a premiership match between Melbourne and Port Adelaide later in the season. For 2015, the Demons will again play host to Port Adelaide, this time for premiership points on the 30th May at TIO Traeger Park.

This provides another tremendous opportunity for the people of Alice Springs, and all across central Australia, to watch an AFL Premiership match. Over 5000spectators attended last year’s premiership match and the AFLNT would be hoping to increase that number in 2015.
The balmy winter evenings in Darwin will be punctuated by the sound of cheers and whistles as the city plays host to the Melbourne Demons in their clash with the West Coast Eagles on Saturday 4th July. TIO Stadium will again be the host venue as the population of Darwin and surrounding districts descend on the home of Northern Territory football once again.

Over in Cairns, Cazalys Stadium will again be the magnet for AFL followers across the region. The venue has been attracting large crowds in excess of ten thousand fans since hosting premiership games in 2011 (The ground’s capacity is only twelve thousand). The figure dropped last year when the Western Bulldogs replaced Richmond as the host club, but numbers are sure to grow in 2015 as the Cairns community embraces the Bulldogs on the back of positive community interaction in 2014.

North Queensland crowds will also have the NAB Challenge match played at Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville, on the 1st March. (See story: http://www.worldfootynews.com/article...8190540184 )

Across the nation, Tasmania will again host matches in Hobart and Launceston, Canberra will again host matches as will Wellington (NZ) above and beyond the regular home and away venues.

Cazalys Stadium, Cairns, North Queensland

TIO Stadium, Darwin, Northern Territory

TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs, Northern Territory
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Cairns, Darwin and Alice Springs share AFL spotlight | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.