Indigenous squad named for Lions tour

Monday, January 21 2013 @ 11:04 pm ACDT

Contributed by: Brett Northey

As previously reported, The Flying Boomerangs are once again headed for a tour of South Africa.  The concept is a personal development and leadership program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young men aged 14 -15 years-old, supported by the Coles AFL Indigenous Program.

Selected from the 2012 AFL KickStart Under-15 Championships, the Flying Boomerangs squad of 25 players will play two matches against South African teams in Potchefstroom and Durban, coached by former St Kilda player Raphael Clarke.

The Boomerangs will also conduct a footyWILD clinic in Cape Town township, visit Table Mountain and Robben Island where former South Africa President Nelson Mandela was imprisoned in 1964 for 18 years before being moved to another prison.

AFL National Community Engagement Manager Jason Mifsud and AFL Indigenous Programs Coordinator Xavier Clarke are attending the tour.

Itinerary and squad listed below:

Tour highlights:

24  Jan – Training in Perth, including performance of the War Cry

26 Jan – Soweto tour (Mandela House, Regina Mundi Church & Township)

28 Jan - Boomerangs v Lions - Game 1

30 Jan – Visit Lion Park

1 Feb – Boomerangs vs. Lions – Game 2

3 Feb – Visit Table Mountain/Robben Island

4 Feb – Visit a juvenile prison

2013 Flying Boomerangs squad:

Brandan Parfitt (Karama, NT), Aiden Hill (Alice Springs, NT), Brendon Jackson (Whyalla, SA), Kyle Jackson (Whyalla, SA), Isaya McKenzie (Willaston, SA), Geoffrey Taylor (Port Lincoln, SA), Liam Bennell (Albany, WA), Darnell Morrison (Lockridge, WA), Callum AhChee (Armadale, WA), Elijah Howard (Waterford, WA), Jayden Gerrand (Sinagra, WA), Gary Scott (Geraldton, WA), Neil Winmar (Maddington, WA), Russell Wynne (Mount Barker, WA), Jamarrah Firebrace (Moama, NSW), Ben Davis (Maroubra, NSW), Tyler Cubby (Moama, NSW), Hayden Banks (Forest Hill, NSW), Cory Glass (Chirnside Park, VIC), Jade Gresham (Mill Park, VIC), Koolyn Briggs (Moonee Ponds, VIC), Aidyn Johnson (Echuca, VIC), Djye Thorpe-Morgan (Shepparton, VIC), Heath Molloy (Monunda, Carins, QLD), Aaron Yusia (Forest Lake, QLD), John Mason (Flinders View, QLD)

Raphael Clarke - Head Coach

Comments (4)

World Footy News