Welcome to World Footy News Wednesday, September 22 2021 @ 11:12 am ACST

2012 AFL Coaches Association Awards

  • Tuesday, September 25 2012 @ 08:15 am ACST
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 2,783
Australia Sydney Coach, John Longmire was tonight announced as the AFLCA’s Allan Jeans Etihad Airways Senior Coach of the Year in front of over 600 guests at the 2012 Momentum Energy AFL Coaches Association Awards Night at Crown. Voted by his coaching peers, Longmire won the AFLCA Award in only his 2nd year as a Senior Coach. The Award has been named in honour of coaching icon Allan Jeans who passed away last year.

Richmond midfielder Trent Cotchin, won the AFLCA “Wingman Player of the Year Award. Cotchin finished in front of Collingwood’s Dayne Beams with Gary Ablett and Patrick Dangerfield tied in third position. Each Senior Coach voted on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game this Season. Government Minister Andrew McIntosh made the Presentation to Cotchin, with Trent’s partner and parents in attendance.

David Parkin was announced as the AFLCA’s fourth PwC ‘Coaching Legend’ following in the footsteps of John Kennedy Senior in 2009, Ron Barassi in 2010 and Tom Hafey in 2011. Parkin received his award from former coaching legend John Kennedy.

The Crown Best Young Player in his first two years of AFL football was Essendon’s Dyson Heppell. The Coaches’ nominations saw Dyson win from Jack Darling (West Coast) and Andrew Gaff (West Coast).

Nigel Clark from Momentum Energy presented the Momentum Energy Lifetime Achievement Award to long serving St Kilda Football Club recruiter, John Beveridge.

The Monjon Assistant Coach of the Year Award was presented to Peter Sumich from the Fremantle Football Club, and originally from the West Coast Eagles.

Hawthorn Coach, Alastair Clarkson presented the Bushnell Support Staff Leadership Award to long-serving Hawthorn stalwart, John Kilpatrick.

A new award for 2012 was also presented to Craig McRae from Collingwood F.C who won the Sports Learning Australia Development Coach of the Year.

The Infront Sports Consulting Media Award was presented to The Age journalist Jake Niall.