Welcome to World Footy News
Sunday, August 25 2019 @ 10:41 am ACST

Diamond Creek edge out Darebin to become 2012 VWFL Premiers


In a historic victory, the Creekers overcame the Falcons 5.10 (40) to 5.5 (35) to win the 2012 Premiers Division Grand Final and take home the Sue Alberti Cup. It was the Creekers first time to take the Premier Division flag, and the team’s first time to beat the mighty Falcons, who were previously coached to six consecutive premiership flags by former coach Peta Searle, now at VFL club Port Melbourne.

The game was played at Box Hill City Oval, home of VFL team Box Hill Hawks, in front of a crowd of several thousand, a huge leap up from previous years.

Darebin, who had won their previous two encounters against the Creekers, started strongly and were a goal up at quarter time, but by the half time break the Creekers had managed to turn the game around and went into the dressing rooms in the lead.

Darebin came out strongly in the second half and briefly managed to wrestle the lead back, but this was overturned by the Creekers with two consecutive goals before the break. The final quarter was all about defence with no more goals scored, and somehow the Creekers managed to hang on to win the game by 5 points.

Goal Scorers:

Diamond Creek - Stephanie Chiocci 3, Kirsty Lamb 1, Natalie Stalder 1
Darebin- Aasta O'Connor 2, Jane Lange 1, Darcy Vescio 1, Stephanie Simpson 1

Best on Ground went to Diamond Creek’s Lisa Hardeman.

Meanwhile in the Reserves Division, VU St Albans Spurs, whose Premiers team won the Grand Final last year, came back from behind to overcome the East Burwood Devils in the last quarter to win the game by 10 points.

The final score was VU St Albans 5.6 (36) to East Burwood 4.2 (26)
Goal Scorers:

VUSA- Emily McIntyre 2, Melanie Devlin 1, Jessica Heath 1, Katherine Sivewright 1
East Burwood- Michelle Palmer 2, Jessica Trend 1, Olivia Crowe 1

Best on Ground was awarded to VUSA’s Rachel Gullo.

A write up of the Premiers Division final can be found on Footy Almanac http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/vwfl-grand-final-darebin-up-the-creek-without-a-premiership/

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Diamond Creek edge out Darebin to become 2012 VWFL Premiers | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.