Welcome to World Footy News
Monday, April 06 2020 @ 10:34 pm ACST

South Dublin Swans go back to back


The South Dublin Swans have won the Jeep Irish Aussie Rules Premiership after a hard fought win against the Cork based Leeside Lions in Durrow, Co Laois last week, final score 6.9 (45) to 5.7 (37). The Swans got to this stage after a close semi-final victory against the Mid-West Magpies.

Their Grand Final opponents Leeside Lions had a much smoother path to the decider with an easy semi-final win over the Dublin Demons and may have been slight favourites based on this performance. From last year’s team the Swans had lost a few players including big ruckman Paul O’Halloran, however another big man, Tom Russell made this position his own in 2011. The Swans also had three players that played in the victorious 2011 International Cup that Ireland won in the Melbourne Cricket Ground in August, full forward, Manus Breathnach, half back James O’Byrne and midfielder, Darren Sheils.

The Leeside Lions were aiming for their first Premiership since 2007 and opened the game better playing with a moderate wind on their backs. They led at quarter time by 15 points to 8. The Swans overturned this deficit in the second quarter keeping the Lions scoreless and adding three goals to their tally to led 4.5 29 to 2.3.15 at half-time. Much to the fore in the second quarter was big Swans full forward Manus Breathnach who was causing the Lions defence a lot of problems.

On the resumption of the third quarter the Lions came back strongly with some composed play from Irish Warriors captain Cian Quigley and fellow international Eoin O’Suilleabhain in the Lions half-back line. At the end of the penultimate quarter the Lions were right back in it being just two points behind 5.7. 37 to 5.5. 35 It was now make or break time in the game and some committed performances were required all over the park by the Swans.

The Swans had the wind in the final quarter and managed to bag another goal to makes things a little more comfortable. However with time running out the Lions continued their patient build up play but their desire to retain possession over field position meant they ran out of time in the end. The Lions had an after the siren kick that they missed meaning the Swans won by a narrow eight point margin. On the final siren it was elation for the Swans players and supporters who have now won back to back premierships, a fine achievement for this proud South Dublin club.

Awarded best on ground in the final was Swans ruckman Tom Russell who outplayed his opponent, Irish international Brian O’Connell. A remarkable achievement for Tom against quality opposition and in his first season playing Aussie Rules.

South Dublin Swans 6.9 (45)
Leeside Lions 5.7 (37)

South Dublin Swans goalscorers: Manus Breathnach 4, Michael Hurley 1, Nick Pigdon 1

Leeside Lions goalscorers: Vincent Manning 2, Cian Quigley 1, Shaun McGuinness 1, Brian Roche 1

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

South Dublin Swans go back to back | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.