Welcome to World Footy News
Tuesday, September 22 2020 @ 12:49 am ACST

Cats 2011 AFL Premiers

Geelong today won its third flag in 5 years defeating last year’s premiers Collingwood by 38 points at the MCG in front of 99,537 fans.
In mostly overcast and often rainy conditions the Cats were able to gradually work their way into a winning position in the last quarter. They were superior in marking contests around the ground but particularly up forward. Led by Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel and Travis Varcoe and the unlikely forward hero in Tom Hawkins, and the more likely Steve Johnson the Cats were deserved winners.
Collingwood      4.2  9.3 12.6 12.9 (81)   
Geelong             4.3  8.6 13.7 18.11 (119)  

Cloke, Krakouer 3, Sidebottom 2, Ball, Johnson, Wellingham, Brown
Geelong: Johnson 4, Hawkins, Bartel, Varcoe 3, Selwood 2, Stokes, Duncan, Ling

Pendlebury, Thomas, Sidebottom, Tarrant, Ball, Brown, Johnson
Geelong: Bartel, Selwood, Hawkins, Ling, Johnson, Lonergan, Chapman, Ottens, Varcoe, Mackie


Jimmy Bartel (Geelong)
Norm Smith Medal Voting
13 - Jimmy Bartel, Geelong Cats 3 3 3 3 1.
9 - Joel Selwood, Geelong Cats 2 2 2 2 1.
5 - Tom Hawkins, Geelong Cats 3 2.
2 - Scott Pendlebury, Collingwood 1 1.
1 - Cameron Ling, Geelong Cats 1.
All judges voted 3 2 1.

Rodney Eade (chairman)
J Bartel, J Selwood, S Pendlebury.
M Granland (SEN 1116)
T Hawkins, J Selwood, J Bartel.
G Lyon (MMM)
J Bartel, J Selwood, S Pendlebury.
B Matthews (Herald Sun)
J Bartel, J Selwood, C Ling.
M Richardson (3AW)
J Bartel, T Hawkins, J Selwood.
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Cats 2011 AFL Premiers | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.