Welcome to World Footy News
Tuesday, January 26 2021 @ 08:46 am ACDT

NAB AFL U16 Champs Div 1 Round 3 results - Fri 15th July

General News

South Australia has won the Division One NAB AFL Under 16 Championship Cup back-to-back with a hard fought 20-point win in the final game against Western Australia. Captain Luke Dunstan accepted the Championship cup. Coach of the South Australian side is Darel Hart.

Results from the 2011 NAB AFL Under 16 Championships Round Three Division One matches played today at Blacktown International Sportspark in Sydney. 

 South Australia 10.12 (72) defeated Western Australia 7.10 (52)


 South Australia: Aish 2, Northeast 2, Evans, Dijksman, Reynolds, Wilkie, Scharenberg, Simister

Western Australia: Humphries 2, Sokol 2, Martin, Hodgson, Abbott


South Australia: Aish, Davidson, Neal-Bullen, Combe, Northeast, Scharenberg

Western Australia: Sheed, Loo, Hogan, Martin

Vic Metro - 12.6 (78) defeated Vic Country 9.11 (65)


Vic Metro: Boyd 2, Franetic 2, Christensen 2, Billings, Kennedy-Harris, Conlon, McDonald, Greiser, Bewley

Vic Country: Willsmore 3, McCartney 2, Thomas, Sharp, Taylor, Gardiner


Vic Metro - Considine, Howes, Billings, Kelly, Boyd, McDonald, Cooke, Franetic.

Vic Country - Tsitas, Heppell, Gardiner, Taylor, Channing, Willsmore.


NAB AFL Most Valuable Players:

South Australia : James Aish

Western Australia: Dom Sheed

Vic Metro: Luke McDonald

Vic Country: James Tsitas


Division One Kevin Sheehan Medallist is South Australia’s James Aish.


  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

NAB AFL U16 Champs Div 1 Round 3 results - Fri 15th July | 1 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
NAB AFL U16 Champs Div 1 Round 3 results - Fri 15th July
Authored by: Brett Northey on Friday, July 15 2011 @ 04:19 pm ACST

I see James Aish won the Div 1 medal.

Father-sons selections can be vital.  I have no doubt Geelong would not have won their flags without them (Gary Ablett Jr, Matthew Scarlett, Mark Blake).  It's one of the few ways to win a flag without bottoming out for excellent draft picks. In fact Geelong have secured several more through that method.

Since the AFL is supposed to be a level playing field with the draft etc, the non-Vic teams were given access to father-son selections from their state league clubs, provided the father's had played enough games (200 in the case of Adelaide), to cover them until their AFL players began producing "heirs".

It was infamously under this rule that Adelaide thought they would get Bryce Gibbs, now a gun player with Carlton.  Except it turned out that the way the AFL count games is different to the SANFL (whether pre-season are included, which the SANFL assumed would be when they negotiated the deal) and also there was a window on when those games had to be played, and Bryce's father Ross didn't get to the required number until the window had closed.

Adelaide also missed out on the Cornes brothers because their father coached Adelaide just 1 year less than what was needed to qualify them.  They even thought Todd Viney's son could be snuck in another way, given that Todd was a long time successly player for Sturt before crossing to Melbourne, but that didn't turn out either.

Now, 21 years in, the Crows still haven't had a father-son selection.  At one stage it was thought that the son of Michael Aish (Norwood) would be picked, but he didn't reach the same level as his dad.  So now how frustrating to see a young James Aish being named SA's best in the NAB AFL U16s!  He's the nephew of Michael Aish.  The Crows really can't take a trick on this one.  (The SANFL rule also ended for Adelaide in 2010).

And might I add that they don't seem to be too interested in the international scholarship list either, which is one of the other few relatively inexpensive ways to get some talent onto your list without bottoming out on the ladder.

Brett Northey - Co-founder and Chief Editor of WFN
[ # ]