Welcome to World Footy News
Sunday, May 19 2019 @ 03:56 pm ACST

Catalan league spanning three nations in 2009


While outsiders generally associate the word "Catalonia" with the autonomous region in Spain centered around Barcelona, the Països Catalans, or "Catalan Countries" also extend north into the region of Rousillon in southern France and the tiny nation of Andorra in the Pyrenees, known for being the only nation where Catalan is the sole official language.

This year, the Lliga de Futbol Australià de Catalunya will span all three nations of the Catalan-speaking region, with the Cornellà Bocs and Belfry Valls from the autonomous region of Catalonia in Spain, one team from the Aussie Rules community in Andorra, and the newly formed Perpignan Tigers from the French side of the border.

After Valls kicked off the year by winning a pre-season tournament in Barcelona last weekend, the first round of the LFAC will be held on the weekend of the 18th and 19th of April. The league will play 6 home-and-away rounds, with the grand final to be held on June 21st.

The LFAC thus joins a growing crowd of multi-national leagues in Europe - the DAFL having included both Swedish and Danish teams for a number of years and the Croatian-Austrian-Czech Championship also being able to lay claim to being a league across three nations.

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Catalan league spanning three nations in 2009 | 1 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Catalan league spanning three nations in 2009
Authored by: Brett Northey on Sunday, March 29 2009 @ 05:44 pm ACDT

And of course there was Strasbourg (French) in the AFL Germany competition a few years ago (this year playing in the first French league season).

Brett Northey - Co-founder and Chief Editor of WFN