Welcome to World Footy News
Tuesday, January 19 2021 @ 12:17 am ACDT

Harvey wins Madden Medal

General NewsRobert Harvey was today named the 2008 AFLPA Madden Medalist. The medal recognizes his outstanding on field performance and off-field football achievements, personal growth and community spirit throughout his 21 seasons at the St Kilda Football Club. The medal was presented at a gala lunch at the Peninsula in the Docklands today. Harvey edged out Peter Bell, Shane Crawford, Scott West, David Neitz, Mal Michael and Nigel Lappin for the top honour.

The Top three votes breakdown for the four awards was as follows.

The Madden Medal Presented by AMP
Robert Harvey 28 Votes
Peter Bell 16 Votes
Shane Crawford 15 Votes

Earlier in the day Peter Bell spoke of his football journey after winning The Open Universities Australia Personal Development Award. The award comes on the back of his achievements including obtaining a law degree from the University of Melbourne and serve as AFLPA President from 2002-2007, in between captaining a football club and winning AFL Premiership’s. He is currently CEO of Simpking International Consultants. Shane Crawford won the GNC Live Well Football Achievement Award on the back of his long career with the Hawks winning four club Best and Fairest, a Brownlow Medal and culminating in being part of the 2008 AFL Premiership team.

The Steel Blue Community Spirit Award was taken home by Adam Ramanauskas who has had a well publicized battle with cancer in the latter part of his career and during that time showed a huge amount of courage, determination and resilience. As well as battling to fight through his illness to make two comebacks to football, he established the ‘Call to Arms’ campaign working for the cause of male cancer in the community and continues to inspire cancer sufferers off all ages and backgrounds.

  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • Twitter
  • SlashDot
  • Del.icio.us
  • Yahoo Buzz

Story Options

Harvey wins Madden Medal | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.