Irish Warriors to bring powerful squad

Wednesday, May 07 2008 @ 07:59 pm ACST

Contributed by: Brett Northey

A 35 player squad for the Irish Warriors (affectionately known as the Green Machine) has been named ahead of the 2008 Australian Football International Cup. Head Coach Roger Clarke has named 15 players that represented Ireland at the 2005 Cup. Veteran Diarmuid Griffin will be the only footballer to have represented Ireland at all three Cup tournaments - he's currently playing for the Fitzroy Reds in the VAFA. Four others are also playing Down Under, and several stars from the 2002 campaign are also returning. Information courtesy of the Australian Rules Football League Ireland.

In addition to Griffin, a further 14 players are backing up after the being there in 2005. They are John Enright, Ian O’ Sullivan, Ciaran Keegan, Paul O’ Mahony, Daire Ó hAodhagáin, Brian O’ Connell, Cian Quigley, Pat Leavy, James Flavin, Sean Fallon, Clifford Richardson and the Australian based trio of Denis Goggin, Mick Finn and John Fahy.

Fifteen players will be making their International Cup debuts; these players are Patrick Gibbs, Dave Walsh, Mark Munnelly, Stephen Keegan, Garett Kelleher, Liam Twomey, Padraic Hannon, David Lally, Vinny Hammond, James O’ Byrne, Ray Saurin, Alan Tierney, Conall Kelly, Alan Lavin and Alex Whooley.

Returning after winning the Cup in 2002 but missing in 2005, are Liam O’ Connor, the Currane brothers Brian and Michael, and Fergal Killoury. O’ Connor was named in the All Star "world team" following the 2002 tournament. Some of these players could significantly strengthen the Warriors and bring them right back into contention.

Barring injury or withdrawal, there are three spots left open in the squad.

Comments (0)

World Footy News