Welcome to World Footy News Saturday, September 25 2021 @ 07:18 am ACST

Kennelly represents the world in AFL Tribute Match

  • Tuesday, April 15 2008 @ 01:02 pm ACST
  • Contributed by: Sean Finlayson
  • Views: 9,030
General News Former County Kerry star and Sydney Swans premiership player Tadhg Kennelly has been named in the Dream Team in the one-off All-Star match against Victoria at the MCG in Melbourne on May 10 as part of the game's 150th celebrations.

Kennelly was the only non-Australian player to be named, and joins players from the Australian states and territories which make up the Dream Team:

  • South Australia (15)
  • Western Australia (12)
  • New South Wales (4)
  • Northern Territory (4)
  • Queensland (2)
  • Tasmania (1)
  • Australian Capital Territory (1)
  • Ireland (1)

Players from the Dream Team get to wear the shape of their state/country of origin on their jumper. It is fitting that Kennelly wear a symbol in the shape of Ireland on his white Dream Team jumper.

A large number of players from both sides will come from the 2007 Geelong Premiership team, as the Cats also dominated All-Australian selection last year.

Named players face AFL penalties if they don't play and the game looks likely to draw a 70,000 plus crowd. For many, this will be a once in a lifetime opportunity to see all of the best players in the AFL in action in a single match.

Mark Williams will coach the Dream Team and Mark Thompson the Big V. The 40-man squads will be trimmed to 25 by the match.

The teams as named by the AFL are:

Victorian ("Big V") squad:

Jonathan Brown (captain) (Brisbane Lions), Gary Ablett jnr (Geelong), Jimmy Bartel (Geelong), Daniel Bradshaw (Brisbane), Campbell Brown (Hawthorn), Paul Chapman (Geelong), Travis Cloke (Collingwood), Nick Dal Santo (St Kilda), Brendan Fevola (Carlton), Dustin Fletcher (Essendon), Nathan Foley (Richmond), Josh Fraser (Collingwood), Adam Goodes (Sydney), Jason Gram (St Kilda), Brent Harvey (North Melbourne), David Hille (Essendon), Luke Hodge (Hawthorn), Brad Johnson (Western Bulldogs), Kane Johnson (Richmond), Steve Johnson (Geelong), Chris Judd (Carlton), James Kelly (Geelong), Nigel Lappin (Brisbane), Cameron Ling (Geelong), Matthew Lloyd (Essendon), Darren Milburn (Geelong), Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), Ryan O'Keefe (Sydney), Luke Power (Brisbane), Matthew Scarlett (Geelong), Heath Shaw (Collingwood), Adam Simpson (North Melbourne), Brent Stanton (Essendon), Dane Swan (Collingwood), Dale Thomas (Collingwood), Jeff White (Melbourne), Dale Morris (Western Bulldogs), Robert Murphy (Western Bulldogs), David Wirrpanda (West Coast)

Dream Team ("The Rest") squad (including state of origin):

Andrew McLeod (captain) (Adelaide/NT), Chance Bateman (Hawthorn/WA), Simon Black (Brisbane Lions/WA), Nathan Bock (Adelaide/SA), Craig Bolton (Sydney/ACT), Peter Burgoyne (Port Adelaide/NT), Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide/SA), Brett Burton (Adelaide/SA), Jamie Charman (Brisbane Lions/QLD), Adam Cooney (Western Bulldogs/SA), Joel Corey (Geelong/WA), Chad Cornes (Port Adelaide/SA), Kane Cornes (Port Adelaide/SA), Dean Cox (West Coast/WA), Alwyn Davey (Essendon/NT), Leon Davis (Collingwood/WA), Alan Didak (Collingwood/SA), Corey Enright (Geelong/SA), Lance Franklin (Hawthorn/WA), Darren Glass (West Coast/WA), Simon Goodwin (Adelaide/SA), Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs/SA), Tom Harley (Geelong/SA), Lenny Hayes (St Kilda/NSW), Adam Hunter (West Coast/WA), Graham Johncock (Adelaide/SA), Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney/Ireland), Daniel Kerr (West Coast/WA), Brett Kirk (Sydney/NSW), Justin Koschitzke (St Kilda/NSW), Matthew Leuenberger (Brisbane Lions/WA), Tarkyn Lockyer (Collingwood/WA), Luke McPharlin (Fremantle/WA), Cameron Mooney (Geelong/NSW), Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle/SA), Matthew Richardson (Richmond/TAS), Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda/QLD), Ben Rutten (Adelaide/SA), Matthew Stokes (Geelong/SA)

Comments welcome - any players unlucky to miss out, how will they line up?